Skip Navigation

Mildred and Herbert Weisinger Dissertation Fellowship


The Mildred and Herbert Weisinger Dissertation Fellowship will be awarded to a graduate student who has advanced to candidacy and is working on a dissertation that bears high scholarly promise but that might be delayed without financial assistance. One fellowship of $ 10,000 will be awarded.

Departments and programs with graduate students at the dissertation stage may each nominate one (1) candidate.

Each nomination must be endorsed by the student's Graduate Program Director (GPD). 

Submit a Nomination

The Google Form link above includes entry fields/document upload sections for the following:

    • A letter of nomination detailing (1) the high scholarly promise of the dissertation project and (2) evidence of exceptional financial need.
    • GPD Endorsement checkbox 
    • Financial Need checkbox
  • A short summary of the nominee's status as a graduate student: the date of admission, year of study, date of advancement to candidacy, and expected date of completion of the doctoral degree.
  • Dissertation abstract, or similar summary of the project. This should be geared toward a general audience and should not exceed two (2) pages. 
  • 2-3 faculty letters of support
  • The student's C.V.

Eligible students will be expected to graduate the December of the year of the award (i.e. December 2022), or later. Students expecting to graduate for the current Spring or Summer semester are not eligible.

* Please Note:  This will be paid as a bi-weekly, academic-year  fellowship through Research Foundation payroll, with the option of electing fellow health insurance benefits.

Past Recipients

2022: Jessica Kim, Sociology  
2020:  Meghan Buckley, English 
2019:  Hyunah Baek, Linguistics 
2018:  Jamie Sommer, Sociology 
2017: Suzan Walters, Sociology
2016: Anusha Shankar, Ecology & Evolution
2015: Jennifer Rollins, Ecology & Evolution
2014: Marta Kondratyuk, Cultural Analysis & Theory
2013: Benjamin Schachtman, English
2012: David Fernandez-Sobrado, Anthropological Sciences
2011: Alice Elder, Anthropological Sciences
2010: Landon Frim, Philosophy
2009: Eran Shor, Sociology
2008: Richard Tyson Smith, Sociology
2007: Anna Sher, Sociology
2006: Matthew Mahler, Sociology; Maya Shanbhag, Comparative Studies