Skip Navigation

Mildred and Herbert Weisinger Dissertation Fellowship




The Mildred and Herbert Weisinger Dissertation Fellowship will be awarded to a graduate student who has advanced to candidacy and is working on a dissertation that bears high scholarly promise but that might be delayed without financial assistance. One fellowship of $ 10,000 will be awarded.

Departments and programs with graduate students at the dissertation stage may each nominate one (1) candidate.

Each nomination must be made by the student's Graduate Program Director (GPD). Each nomination should include:

    • A letter of nomination from the Graduate Program Director (GPD) detailing (1) the high scholarly promise of the dissertation project and (2) evidence of exceptional financial need. If there is a conflict, the Department Chair can provide this  nomination letter in lieu of the GPD.
  • A short summary of the nominee's status as a graduate student. This should include the date of admission, year of study, date of advancement to candidacy, and expected date of completion of the doctoral degree.
  • Dissertation abstract, or similar summary of the project. This should be geared toward a general audience. 
  • Letters of support from (1) the student's advisor, (2) the Department Chair and (3) another program faculty member.
  • The student's C.V.

Eligible students will be expecting to graduate the December of the year of the award, or after. Students expecting to graduate for the current Spring or Summer semester are not eligible.

* Please Note:  Beginning in 2019, this fellowship will be paid as a bi-weekly fellowship payment through Research Foundation payroll, with the option of electing fellow health insurance benefits .

Past Recipients

2020:  Meghan Buckley, English 

2019:  Hyunah Baek, Linguistics 

2018:  Jamie Sommer, Sociology 

2017: Suzan Walters, Sociology

2016: Anusha Shankar, Ecology & Evolution

2015: Jennifer Rollins, Ecology & Evolution

2014: Marta Kondratyuk, Cultural Analysis & Theory

2013: Benjamin Schachtman, English

2012: David Fernandez-Sobrado, Anthropological Sciences

2011: Alice Elder, Anthropological Sciences

2010: Landon Frim, Philosophy

2009: Eran Shor, Sociology

2008: Richard Tyson Smith, Sociology

2007: Anna Sher, Sociology

2006: Matthew Mahler, Sociology; Maya Shanbhag, Comparative Studies