Skip Navigation

John Marburger III Fellowship for Science, Engineering & Mathematics

An endowment made in the memory of Dr. John H. Marburger, III, former president of Stony Brook University, director of Brookhaven National Laboratory, science advisor to President George W. Bush, and Vice President for Research at Stony Brook, provides funding support for women undertaking advanced graduate study in the physical sciences, engineering, or mathematics.

One award, in the amount of $5,000, will be granted. Each graduate program in the physical sciences, engineering, or mathematics may nominate one (1) candidate who has advanced to candidacy. Each nomination must be made by the student's Graduate Program Director (GPD).

Nominations should include:

  • A completed  Google Nomination Form.
  • A letter of nomination from the Graduate Program Director (GPD).  If there is a conflict, the Department Chair can provide this  nomination letter in lieu of the GPD.
  • A short summary of the nominee's status as a graduate student. This should include the date of admission, year of study, date of advancement to candidacy, and expected date of completion of the doctoral degree.
  • Dissertation abstract, or similar summary of the project. This should be geared toward a general audience. 
  • Letters of support from (1) the student's advisor, (2) Department Chair, and (3) another program faculty member.
  • The student's C.V.

The nomination deadline is Monday, February 25, 2019, at 5:00 pm.

Eligible students will be expecting to graduate the December of the year of the award, (i.e. for this year Dec 19) or after. Students expecting to graduate for the current Spring or Summer semester are not eligible.

* Please Note: Beginning in 2019, this fellowship will be paid as a bi-weekly fellowship payment through Research Foundation payroll, with the option of electing fellow health insurance benefits.

Past Recipients

2019:  Xujia Chen, Mathematics

2018:  Vihitaben Patel, Biomedical Engineering

2017: Shikha Singh, Computer Science

2016: Fang Xu, Chemistry

2015: Melissa Louie, Physics & Astronomy

2014: Madalena Lemos, Physics & Astronomy

2013: Karlin Gilje, Physics & Astronomy

Login to Edit