Skip Navigation

Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching by a Faculty Member

The Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award recognizes faculty members for excellence and creativity in the classroom teaching of graduate students. Innovation in graduate curriculum development and implementation also will be considered. The nominee must have been a faculty member for at least three years at the time of the nomination.

The award is comprised of a certificate and a $500 award check. Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students.

Submit a Nomination

The Google Form link above includes entry fields/document upload sections for the following:

  • A letter of nomination.  Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students.
  • Letter of support from the faculty member's Department Chair or Graduate Program Director (GPD).
  • A letter of support from at least one other faculty member.
  • Letters of support from at least two graduate students who have a direct knowledge of nominee's teaching.
  • The nominee's C.V.
  • Course and teaching evaluations and summary data as appropriate.
  • Any additional information deemed appropriate by the nominator.


Past Recipients

2022: August Sheehy, Music
2021: John Bailyn, Linguistics
2019:  Thomas Graf, Linguistics
2018:  Clinton Rubin, Biomedical Engineering
2017: David Talmage, Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology
2016: Richard Larson, Linguistics
2015: Jeffrey Santa Ana, English
2014: Allegra de Laurentiis, Philosophy
2013: Kostya Likharev, Physics & Astronomy
2012: Douglas Pfeiffer, English
2011: Eduardo Mendieta, Philosophy
2010: Adrienne Munich, English; Peter van Nieuwenhuizen, Physics & Astronomy
2007: Celia Marshik, English
2006: Jessica Gurevitch, Ecology and Evolution