Skip Navigation

Dean's Award for Excellence in Service by a Graduate Program Coordinator (GPC)

The Dean's Award for Excellence in Service recognizes outstanding service to graduate education at Stony Brook by a graduate program coordinator (GPC). Criteria for selection may include provision of timely and excellent advice to graduate students about academic, registration, support and placement issues, or generosity of time in working with graduate students. These criteria are not meant to be exhaustive, but instead to suggest activities that might be considered in a nominating letter. The nominee must have been a GPC for at least two years at the time of the nomination.

The award is comprised of a certificate and a $500 award check. Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students.

Nomination materials should include :

  • A completed  Google Nomination Form.
  • A letter of nomination.  Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students.
  • Letter of support from the faculty member's Department Chair or Graduate Program Director (GPD).
  • Letter of support from at least one other faculty member.
  • Letter of support from at least two graduate students who have a direct knowledge of nominee's service activities.
  • The nominee's C.V.

The nomination deadline is Monday, February 24, 2020, at 5:00 pm. 

Past Recipients

2020:  Jackie Donnelly, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies

2019:  Jennifer McCauley, STRIDE ; Donald Sheehan, Physics and Astronomy

2018:  Cynthia Santa Cruz-Scalzo, Computer Science

2017: Melissa Cohen, Ecology & Evolution

2016: Kathleen-Anna Amella, Philosophy; Joann Delucia-Conlon, Molecular & Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry & Structural Biology

2015: Odalis Hernandez, Neuroscience, Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biophysics

2014: Roxanne Fernandez, History

2013: Carol Juliano , Molecular & Cellular Biology and Structural Biology

2012: Erica Robey , College of Business

2011: Kathyrn (Kate) Bell , Genetics & Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

2010: Nathan Leoce-Schappin, Philosophy

2009: Katherine Hughes , Department of Chemistry

2008: Mary Moran-Luba, Comparative Literature

2007: Deborah Kloppenburg, Electrical Engineering

2006: Carron Kaufman, Medical Scientist Training Program

2005: Anne Marie Dusatko, Biomedical Engineering