Skip Navigation

Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring by a Faculty Member

The Excellence in Mentoring Award recognizes faculty members for the outstanding support of a graduate student, or graduate students, from course completion through research and placement. Criteria that may be considered in selecting a nominee include: provision of sound advice with respect to course of study, encouraging the best performance from students, generosity of time or other measures of effort at mentoring, assisting an unlikely or superficially unpromising student through to successful completion and placement, advice and other assistance regarding quality and quantity of student papers or other forms of publication and performance, extraordinary efforts or success with placement. These criteria are not meant to be exhaustive, but instead to suggest activities that might be considered in a nominating letter. The nominee must have been a faculty member for at least three years at the time of the nomination.

The award is comprised of a certificate and a $500 award check. Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students.

Nominations should include:

  • A completed  Google Nomination Form.
  • A letter of nomination.  Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students.
  • Letter of support from the faculty member's Department Chair or Graduate Program Director.
  • Letters of support from at least two graduate students who have a direct knowledge of nominee's mentoring activities.
  • The nominee's C.V.

The nomination deadline is Monday, February 24, 2020, at 5:00 pm. 

Past Recipients

2020:  Richard Gerrig, Psychology

2019:  Liz Montegary, Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

2018:  Chang Kee Jung, Physics

2017: Adrienne Munich, English

2016: Mary Rawlinson, Philosophy

2015: James Bliska, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology; Megan Craig, Philosophy

2014: Ned Landsman, History

2013: Greg Hajcak, Psychology

2012: Ellen Broselow, Linguistics

2011: Marci Lobel, Psychology

2010: Susan Scheckel, English

2009: Sanjay Sampath, Material Science and Engineering

2008: Marvin Goldfried , Psychology

2007: Paul Gootenberg, History

2006: Michael Schwartz, Sociology