Skip Navigation

Dean's Award for Excellence in Service by a Graduate Program Director (GPD)

The Dean's Award for Excellence in Service recognizes outstanding service to graduate education at Stony Brook by a graduate program director (GPD). Criteria for selection may include provision of timely and excellent advice to graduate students about academic, registration, support and placement issues and/or generosity of time in working with graduate students. These criteria are not meant to be exhaustive, but instead to suggest activities that might be considered in a nominating letter. The nominee must have been a GPD for at least two years at the time of the nomination.

The award is comprised of a certificate and a $500 award check. Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students.

Nomination materials should include:

  • A completed  Google Nomination Form.
  • A letter of nomination.  Nominations may be made by faculty, staff or students. 
  • Letter of support from the faculty member's Department Chair.
  • Letter of support from the Graduate Program Coordinator (GPC).
  • Letter of support from at least one other faculty member.
  • Letter of support from at least two graduate students who have a direct knowledge of nominee's service activities.
  • The nominee's C.V.

The nomination deadline is Monday, February 22, 2021, at 5:00 pm. 

Past Recipients

2021: Mary Rawlinson, Philosophy  
2020:  David Rubenstein, Biomedical Engineering 
2019:  Kathleen Fallon, Sociology 
2018:  John Bailyn, Linguistics;  Wali Karzai, Molecular and Cell Biology
2016: Shirley Lim, History
2015: Katheryn Twiss, Anthropological Sciences; Anne O'Byrne, Philosophy
2014: Steve Marsh, Theatre Arts
2013: Mathew Lebo , Political Science
2012: Susan Brennan , Psychology
2011: Nancy Goroff , Chemistry; Andreas Koenig , Anthropological Sciences
2010: Celia Marshik, English
2009: Anne McElroy, Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
2008: Laszlo Mihaly, Physics
2007: Stella Tsirka, Pharmacology
2006: Partap Khalsa, Biomedical Engineering